Here’s something I see every so often. Guys/girls get mad/sad for getting friend-zoned. In my opinion, that’s a very good place to be. If the other person isn’t looking for a love-relationship, don’t give a love-relationship. Only do things that a friend would do.

That’s a big mistake that people do. There’s that sad statement, “why buy the cow when you get the milk for free?” If you put everything into a relationship and the other person isn’t ready or doesn’t know if they want it yet, you give them the opportunity to break your heart. It isn’t their fault, but because of your hurt, it becomes their fault and you destroy a good relationship.

Of course, coming from me this is kind of funny. You must be thinking, “What about you and that other guy? You didn’t fix that relationship…”

My answer would be: That was already a broken relationship. He was pushing hard to make me his girlfriend that he couldn’t see I wasn’t interested in a love-relationship with him. He wasn’t interested in being my friend.

For me, Friendship is a big step to a love-relationship. If you don’t want to put in the effort to be friends, how long do you think your relationship will last? Or maybe I’m just too blind to see it.

Sometimes I think of myself as a swan with broken wings. What good is a swan who can’t fly? I’m not the right person to have a love-relationship. In the words of Ella Enchanted, I’m not old enough for a relationship. My broken wings are equal to Ella’s curse.

Part of being in a relationship is being ready to take care of someone else. I’m not ready for that. It scares me. If I ever get that far without being ready, I’m gonna end-up the Runway Bride.

Anyways here are four things to remember:

  • Don’t give up
  • Don’t runaway
  • Don’t give your all before you’re married (or you won’t be or you will and it’ll feel like your missing something.)
  • Trust yourself. No lies.

(While this song is to God, it’s still a Love song.)

